I Can’t Even Walk: Stories of life with cerebral palsy

By KRYSTI SHALLENBERGER

Justin Fisher will be holding a Nov. 9 signing for I Can’t Even Walk (Without You Holding My Hand), a book of vignettes about life with cerebral palsy. Photo courtesy of http://www.annalwightphotography.com.

Born with cerebral palsy, economics instructor Justin Fisher had to overcome physical difficulties in order to pursue his dreams. Above all, Fisher is intentional about showing the mercy of God through his story.

“I grew up in rural Mississippi, which is very poor,” Fisher said. “Entertainment mostly consisted of storytelling because radios and TVs didn’t really exist. I couldn’t go outside and play football or sports with my cousins because of my condition, so I sat inside and listened to my grandparents tell stories about their lives and family.”

Through emails to friends he conveyed his love of storytelling and Jesus Christ.

“I blogged before blogging existed,” Fisher said. “I would think of something that happened and how I felt Jesus used that experience to teach me something, wrote it down and sent it to friends.”

He saved his emails and took the advice of a literary agent friend to publish them in his new book, I Can’t Even Walk (Without You Holding My Hand).

Written from his perspective dealing with cerebral palsy, the book contains forty vignettes that he hopes point people in the direction of Jesus Christ.
Fisher teaches economics at Jefferson State Community College, where he received the Phi Theta Kappa Outstanding Faculty award. He has also served on the Board of Directors for Special Equestrians Incorporated, a therapeutic horseback riding facility.

The author is also actively involved in the church. He has taught small groups, spoken at youth meetings and given motivational speeches. He and Kelly, his wife of four years, are members of Valleydale Church, where they serve in the children’s ministry as well as in a leadership role in their Life Connection Group. They have two children, Adam and Morgan.

Fisher will be holding a book signing Nov. 9 at 6:30 p.m. at Jeff State on Valleydale Road in the Health Science Building Multipurpose Room. I Can’t Even Walk (Without You Holding My Hand) can also be purchased on amazon.com. He will also speak at the Greater Shelby County Chamber of Commerce Prayer Breakfast on Nov. 22.

 

Leave a Reply

